Collaborative Curriculum and Assessment Framework for Languages (CCAFL)

TASC Foundation (Level 2) and Level 3 courses are available for Chinese (Mandarin), French, German, Italian and Japanese.

Beyond these courses, access to study other languages is available to Tasmanian senior secondary students through CCAFL.

Learners who speak a language not taught in Tasmanian senior secondary schools are able to enrol in a language course accredited through CCAFL. The program is coordinated by TASC. Learning is self-directed with learners receiving support as necessary through their school. There is no internal assessment for these courses. External assessments are held in October or November of each year.

Applications to study a CCAFL course in 2021 are now open and close Thursday, 1 April 2021.

The CCAFL timetable and Exam Instructions for 2021 to be confirmed.

The awards available for CCAFL courses are based on achievement in the external assessment. Students who are not present for the external assessment will not receive an award. The available awards are:

  • Exceptional Achievement (EA)
  • High Achievement (HA)
  • Commendable Achievement (CA)
  • Satisfactory Achievement (SA)
  • Preliminary Achievement (PA)

All the courses listed below are at Level 3. A PA award or better in these courses contributes 15 credit points towards the Tasmanian Certificate of Education (TCE). An award of SA or higher contributes towards the Australian Tertiary Admissions Rank (ATAR) for eligible students.

Course materials and assessment tasks are sourced from other Australian assessment agencies and administered according to their specifications.

Qualifications are available in the following languages:

  • Arabic
  • Chinese (BS)
  • Dutch
  • Filipino
  • Greek (Modern)
  • Japanese (BS)
  • Korean (BS)
  • Persian (BS)
  • Portuguese
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese (BS)

(BS) = Background Speaker

Please contact TASC if there is a language not listed above that you would like us to consider offering –