To achieve the Tasmanian Certificate of Education (TCE) you must show that you meet the five standards of the TCE.

Students can show that they meet the everyday adult standards by gaining a ‘Satisfactory Achievement/Pass’ award (or better) in identified TASC accredited senior secondary courses. Alternatively they can take the Everyday adult standard safety net tests to achieve the standards:

  • Everyday adult reading and writing in English.
  • Everyday adult mathematics.
  • Everyday adult use of computers and the internet.

Passing an Everyday adult standards safety net test does not give you credit points that contribute to meeting the participation and achievement standard of the TCE, however, it does provide you with the relevant everyday adult standard.

All tests can be sat as paper-based tests and take up to 90 minutes to complete. The Everyday adult use of computers and the internet standard safety net test can also be taken as an online test in June or October. View key dates for details.

Test centres

  • Current Tasmanian students can sit all the tests at their school.
  • Past Tasmanian students can contact their previous school and sit the tests there (if it is listed as an approved test centre on the list below).

Additional information

  • Safety net tests will be available to students no earlier than Term 4 of Year 11.
  • A student may not re-sit the same safety net test type within a three month period without permission from TASC.
  • There may be a cost involved, please refer to schools for further details.
  • The online version of the Everyday adult use of computers and the internet standard safety net test is available and can be delivered by schools registered to deliver TASC accredited senior secondary courses.

Schools can participate in the online Everyday Adult Use of Computers and the Internet safety net test. The schools listed below are TASC approved testing centres for paper-based tests. These centres set their own fees and eligibility guidelines.

  • Calvin Christian School
  • Circular Head Christian School
  • Claremont College
  • Don College
  • Elizabeth College
  • Guilford Young College
  • Hellyer College
  • Hobart College
  • Launceston Christian School
  • Launceston Church Grammar School
  • Launceston College
  • Leighland Christian School
  • Marist Regional College
  • Newstead College
  • Rosny College
  • Scotch Oakburn College
  • Smithton High School
  • St Brendan Shaw College
  • St Helens District High School
  • St Michaels Collegiate School
  • St Mary’s College
  • St Patrick’s College
  • The Fahan School
  • The Friends School
  • The Hutchins School

Schools must register to become a test centre to deliver safety net tests.